Post-op/second surgery- Day 2


Flat tops, Colorado
21317572_769261616590495_5265157265130667633_n
“Our body is an amazing machine. It has the ability to heal emotionally and physically, at the same time carves the lessons learned throughout the journey.”

Surgery day was yesterday, April 17, 2018! We didn’t have to be to the hospital until 7 am, got registered and started all of the surgery prep.  Doc came in to talk to me at about 9:15 am.. then we were headed to the operating room.  They gave me some “happy juice” to make me nice and calm about it all.. must have worked because I barely remember anything in the operating room.  Before I knew it, I was waking up.  Usually the first thing I say now is, Did everything go ok??  Doc said everything went as expected, he was pretty happy with the results.  They gave me a little x-ray shot from the OP room.

30729240_885029811680341_3204658511829008384_n

So they moved the second toe away from the third toe. The back knuckles were kind of on top of each other. (The second on top of the third.) He also trimmed the second metatarsal down some behind that head, because that toe was the longest and taking most of the brunt of force when walking.  He was thinking he would add 2 more screws to that area but ended up feeling happy with just 1.  He said it seemed very stable and he thought it would heal up nicely! He is thinking I will be walking in about a month!! That would be great.. I have a max of 8 weeks off from work but I don’t want to push going back to soon because with being a server I walk a LOT! I need to make sure I can handle that before I go back.  I will be going doing my physical therapy around that time as well to get myself back to working condition and hopefully even better this time!! Hopefully with minimal discomfort now!

They did a nerve block on the side of my knee.. they were able to do this while i was asleep so that was great!  I was worried about that from the first surgery.  It lasted until last night, when I woke up at about 5:00 am this morning my foot was not numb anymore.  It is hurting, but not horrible.  Honestly, it feels just a little bit worse than it would on my worst days before.  Like after working 12 hours!  So it’s manageable, I think I was scaring myself more than I should’ve.. but my first surgery was a big complex surgery.  The recovery from that one was a big traumatic, but still SO worth it!!  Staying positive is very important, and repeating positive affirmations about your healing and recovery! Meditate on your bones healing just the way they should!

I’m so excited and happy to be through this surgery portion and move on with my recovery journey!  I will keep you all posted!

Thanks for reading 🙂

~ by EclecticAnela on April 18, 2018.

Leave a comment